Yugadi platter

Happy Yugadi to my south indian friends.

I was treated to a sumptuous Yugadi festival meal by my cousin and his wife today. They are a loving couple and impeccable when it comes to hospitality. The menu was Chitranna, masala vada, vegetable curry, kosambari, mixed vegetable sambhar, papad, yoghurt, and my favorite Obbattu. We ate from a steel thali covered with banana leaf – no spoon or fork. We talked about a lot of things over dinner: family, parents, relationships, food, life in the U.S. etc. etc. in a very relaxed manner. As always I played board game with kids, got to listen to their cute stories and a live carnatic vocal music performance! Celebrating Yugadi with family provided a relief from the humdrum routine of my daily life and reaffirmed my belief in the wisdom that lies behind our festivals and traditions.

20120323-225339.jpg

Leave a Reply

