Gujarati Green Chutney Sandwich

Last week was San Jose Sharks game night. Dinner was going to take place in the car on my way to the stadium. It being a busy day, I was thrilled to have thought of making chuntey sandwiches. It’s just the kind of food that works out well for these kinds of outings. This chutney livens up any sandwich with its sweet, salty, tangy, and spicy taste.

Coriander Chutney

For Chutney:

2 medium-size bunches fresh coriander leaves/cilantro
1/4 cup roasted peanuts
12 green chilies (I used the thai variety but if using jalapeno use 3-4 depending on its hotness)
1.5 tea spoon cumin seeds
juice from 2 small lemons
2 tea spoon sugar
Approx. 1 flat tea spoon salt

1. Thoroughly wash coriander leaves.
2. In a blender add all the ingredients except salt and lemon juice. Add 1 table spoon water.
3. Blend until smooth. (You will have to stop the blender and scrape the blender on the sides a few times.)
4. Remove chutney in a bowl and mix in lemon juice and salt.

This chutney makes 10-12 sandwiches.
Variations: You can add 1 table spoon of mint leaves along with coriander leaves.

For Sandwiches:

Any bread of your choice but soft white bread tastes best I think.
1 cucumber, scraped and slices thin
Half stick of butter, at room temperature

To make a sandwich:
Take 2 slices of bread and remove crust with a knife.
Spread butter and then 1 heaped tea spoon of chutney.
Arrange 8-10 cucumber slices on bread.
Spread some butter and 1 tea spoon of chutney on the second slice of bread.
Put the second slice of bread on top of the first one.

Go Sharks!

7 Responses to “Gujarati Green Chutney Sandwich”

  1. subhashini Says:

    very easy to understand. well written.
    I made it today very tasty
    thank you
    subha

  2. Lee @ foodie plus 4 Says:

    This looks delicious – cucumber sandwiches are one of my favorites, and the chutney would be a lovely change.
    Thanks!

  3. Tanya Says:

    Hi,

    Beautiful and delicious recipes!

    I have a question for you. You said in your recipe for pedha to use 250ml fresh cream. Where do you get this cream. Is it same as half and half you get in grocery stores?

    Thanks

  4. Shoba Says:

    Hi,

    This chutney sandwich looks YUM….I remember having this in a sandwich store in Pune…This one looks very soft and pliable very very eatable…

    Shobha

  5. Akshay Says:

    I love the chutney and my sandwich. I still remember this used to be the breakfast we used to carry when we used to go to Bangalore. It is totally a delight to eat and I can still eat 10 sandwiches in one go. You do have a good collection of recipes out here.

  6. Cardamom Says:

    I love this chutney in my sandwich too! I also melt some American cheese and grill it along with the chutney……it is totally a delight to eat.

    cheers,trupti
    the spice who loved me

  7. Sonu Says:

    I love this green chutney. And best idea of zatpat dinner. 🙂 I also have posted in my blog just last month.


Leave a Reply

