Pound Cake

Pound cake is one of  life’s simple pleasures. I have been baking it for some time now and have been quite happy with the way it comes out but when I came across this recipe which used whipping cream, I was curious – it seemed  to promise a taste reminiscent of the old English pound cakes I had eaten in India – and  decided to give it a try. The result was a fabulous cake with a moist, dense texture and a very subtle vanilla flavor. The beauty of this cake is in its simplicity; it doesn’t require any frosting/icing.  It’ s really the least ostentatious of all cakes and there’s a reason why. It can hold its own with its wonderful taste and flavor.

The recipe is thanks to allrecipes.com. (http://allrecipes.com/Recipe/Whipping-Cream-Pound-Cake-2/Detail.aspx) The only change I made was that I added 1/8 tea spoon of salt. Make sure you remove the cake from the oven as soon as bake time is over, otherwise you might get a crumbly cake.

Pound Cake

4 Responses to “Pound Cake”

  1. Cardamom Says:

    this and a cup of hot coffee would such a treat right now!

    -trupti

  2. Salihan Says:

    That looks delicious! I’ve printed the recipe and I’m going to try it out this weekend. Thanks for sharing the link!

  3. Avisha Says:

    Fist time here, Pound cake looks yummy. Whenever I make pound cake I make it in loaf pan will try bundt pan next time.

  4. chitra Says:

    First time here i guess..The cake looks really simple & yumm..Would love to have a piece rite now 🙂


Leave a Reply

