Piadine Caprese

La scoperta di un piatto nuovo è più preziosa per il genere umano che la scoperta di una nuova stella.
(The discovery of a new dish is more precious to human being than the discovery of a new star.)
~Brillat-Savarin

Last week I had Piadine Caprese at Tomatina restaurant in Dublin. It was one of the most satisfying restaurant meals I had in a long time. Last time I was there, I had found it on the menu but didn’t  get excited about it  thinking it had too much of salad stuff in it.  Cool Crisp romaine lettuce, soft mozzarella cheese and basil pesto wrapped in a fresh-from-the-oven flat bread was so good it eased away my boredom and lifted my spirits.   As is normally the case with me, whenever I come across a good vegetarian dish like this, I try make it at home. I get all enthusiastic about  shopping for the required ingredients, picking a day to make it  and of course actually making it in my kitchen. Piadine was no exception.

Piadine Caprese

I decided to use the same roti dough that I use to make thin, gujarati style rotis called rotlis. It turned out to be just the way I wanted it. Soft, but with a hint of crispiness to it. For pesto, I used basil and cilantro combination.

Basil Pesto

Piadine Sandwich

Both flat breads and basil pesto can be bought from a grocery store.
Makes 4 Piadine.

12 slices of fresh soft mozzarella cheese
12 leaves of romaine lettuce
1/2 cup sun dried tomato OR cut 3 tomatoes in half and shallow fry in a tea spoon of oil until soft.
1/2 cup olive oil
3/4 cup Italian vinaigrette or your favorite salad dressing
Half tea spoon crushed black pepper

For flat bread/roti dough:
3 cups of wheat flour + another 1/2 cup to roll the flat breads.
4 table spoon olive oil or any vegetable oil
half  tea spoon salt
1+1/4 cup water

Mix wheat flour, salt and oil. Add water 1/4 cup at a time and make a smooth dough. Knead further for 3-4 minutes. Cover the dough with a lid and put it away to ferment for at least 7-8 hours.

For Basil pesto:
1 cup fresh basil leaves
1 small bunch cilantro leaves
3 table spoon pine nuts, roasted
1 clove of garlic (optional)
1/2 tea spoon crushed black pepper
1/2 cup olive oil
1/4 tea spoon salt

In a blender jar blend everything except olive oil until smooth. Add olive oil and blend for 15 more seconds. Empty basil pesto into a bowl.

To make flat bread:

  1. Make 4 equal sized balls from the roti dough.
  2. Preheat oven to 500 degrees.
  3. Take a ball of the dough and roll it out to about 1/10 inch thick roti of about 6-8 inch diameter. Repeat for the rest of the dough.
  4. Bake each roti in the oven until lightly browned on both sides (approx. 3-5  minutes)

To make piadine:

  1. Lay a flat bread on a plate. Smear it generously with pesto sauce (about 2 table spoons)
  2. Arrange 2 lettuce leaves one side of the bread.
  3. Put 2 slices of mozzarella cheese on lettuce leaves.
  4. Spread a table spoon of sun-dried tomato on cheese. OR use 2 fried tomato halves.
  5. Drizzle salad dressing over lettuce and cheese. I also sprinkled some feta cheese but that’s only because I had some left over.
  6. Sprinkle crush black pepper on top.
  7. To eat, fold the empty side of the bread over the other half and eat like a sandwich.
8 Responses to “Piadine Caprese”

  1. Sharada Says:

    HI Anupama
    Awesome homemade recipe. I am always looking for variety in breakfast and this seems perfect!! Can we use Tava/skillet instead of oven to make these rotlis. Does the rotli made in oven seem different in texture and taste?

  2. matt Says:

    This is a great recipe, another slight adjustment you can try is in place of the lettuce, try using baby spinach leaves, tossed with a little bit of olive oil, a dash of pepper, and a little bit of lemon juice. Just enough to lightly coat the spinach.

    and if you don’t want to make your own bread, try putting a thin pita bread in the oven at 400 for about 2 or 3 minutes till it gets hard, flip it over, spread your pesto sauce on top and put it back in for another 2 min. works well when you’re short on time.

    • Anupama Krishnamurthy Says:

      Hi Matt,
      I had some basil pesto left over so I tried your variation and it was excellent! Thank you so much for taking the time to write this suggestion. I really appreciate it. I never thought of using pita bread because the ones I have seen are thick. I’ll look for thin ones and try it.

      Thanks,
      Anupama

  3. Susan Judd Says:

    I found your web site while looking for some Italian recipes. Your web site is a treasure for an Indian food lover like me. Beautiful recipes and descriptions. I have never had Piadine but now I will try it.

    thanks,
    Susan

  4. a2zvegetariancuisine Says:

    Piadine looks delicious. Never tried it.

  5. parita Says:

    Wow Piadine looks delicious..new to me..must a try 🙂

  6. UjjU Says:

    You were in Dublin??? Well will enquire more in the e-mail. Between, the Piadine looks mouth watering. I’ve never tried it. Now that you’ve mentioned about it, next time I get an opportunity, will surely try it. 🙂

  7. Richa Says:

    Wow, this is my favorite at Tomatina. It looks fabulous. I would never think of making this at home but I might just try this recipe at home. Thanks.

    Richa


Leave a Reply

