Black Eye Bean Salad

Other than the few varieties of Kosambri eaten during  major festivals, salad was generally not part of the meals I ate in India. Now I enjoy them a lot, especially the Italian and Greek salads and the Thai Papaya salad. It’s a great way to include more veggies and greens in our meals and eat it fresh and uncooked, as the nature probably intended us to. Today I made Black-eye beans salad. It’s an absolutely invigorating and delicious salad recipe I got from my friend Renuka. It doesn’t require any special salad dressing. The black-eye beans give it just the right amount of body to make a meal in itself. The green chilies, fresh black pepper and lime juice add that chaat-like zing to it. Try this salad with a glass of buttermilk for lunch some day. I am sure you’ll like it.

img_3490-custom

Half cup black eye beans soaked and cooked or 1 cup frozen black eye peas
1 small red onion finely chopped
Half cup chopped cucumber
2 chopped tomatoes
2 green chilies
1 carrot grated
1 tbsp chopped mint leaves/pudina leaves
2 tbsp chopped cilantro/hara dhaniya/leela dhaNa
Juice from 2 small lemons
Half tsp fresh black pepper
Approx. 3/4 tea spoon salt (adjust per taste)

Preparation: Soak the black eye beans for 7-8 hours or overnight.

1. Cook the beans in 3 cups of water until just about cooked.
Note: These beans cook really fast. Also, the salad tastes better if the beans have a slight crunchiness to them.
2. Drain all the water from the beans and wait until they have cooled.
3. In a bowl, mix all the ingredients. Taste and adjust salt and lemon juice per your taste.

10 Responses to “Black Eye Bean Salad”

  1. Anonymous Says:

    Manu
    I tried this salad with my new v slicer. Salad was very tasty. I could taste the mint in it. Thanks for the recipe.
    Bye
    Manjula

  2. Palak Says:

    Just made this. Quick, tasty and nutritious! I used canned beans and next time I think I’ll add a touch of ground cumin. Thanks.

  3. Pallavi Says:

    Hi Manu,
    I LOVE, LOVE, LOVE your blog. I just want to rush to the kitchen and try these out! What I like the most about your blog is, that you make it so simple and yet very tasty!!

    I just can’t wait for Amy to get better and get in the kitchen with her! That truley will be our mother-daughter bonding time which we will cherish for years to come!

  4. Minni Says:

    Loved the salad! Was a hit at our party!

  5. Vaidehi Says:

    healthy salad. Love beans salad !!

    chakali

  6. Priya Says:

    Great choice of ingredients..definitely a healthy salad…

  7. Soma Says:

    My first time here. I love these beans. Very healthy salad.

  8. Anonymous Says:

    thats a heallthy salad,,,a bowl full of goodness…


Leave a Reply

