Creamy Brinjal/eggplant with methi

One of my favorite recipes, it has an amazing tangy and spicy taste and goes great with poori or paratha. Fresh methi/fenugreek leaves add that special taste which all Indians love.  Methi is not available throughout the year so during the season, I try to make this curry often. Hot parathas and this curry, accompanied by a glass of buttermilk will make for a wonderful week-end brunch.

Requires about 15 minutes of preparation time and another 20 minutes of cooking time.

Green Eggplant/RingaN

Green Eggplant/RingaN

Creamy eggplant with methi

Creamy eggplant with methi

Ingredients:

10 medium, oval eggplants/baigan (the small variety, green or purple)

1 bunch methi/fenugreek leaves, chopped

1/2 cup green peas

2 medium-size green chilies, 1/2 tea spoon grated ginger

1 tea spoon coriander seeds powder

1/4 tea spoon cumin seeds powder

1/4 tea spoon red chili powder

1/2 tea spoon garam masala

1 medium size tomato

1 table spoon tomato paste

3/4 cup milk

2 table spoons cream

1 ¼ tea spoon salt

Method:

1. Slit each eggplant into 4 or 6 pieces depending on the size. Boil eggplant and peas in 3/4 cup of water until they are just about cooked. Be careful to not overcook the eggplants.

2. In a  kadhai/covered saute pan, heat 2 table spoon oil and season with mustard seeds, cumin seeds and asafoetida. Add green chili, ginger and chopped methi/fenugreek leaves. Cook on medium heat for  5 minutes.

3. Add chopped tomato and tomato paste. Cook for about 8 minutes and add all the masalas, including salt. Saute for another 5 minutes.

4. Add ¼ cup water, milk and cream. Taste and adjust spices per your taste.

5. Add cooked eggplant along with the water in which it was cooked. Stir the cooked eggplants and peas gently into the masala. Let the curry simmer for about 3 minutes.

18 Responses to “Creamy Brinjal/eggplant with methi”

  1. Anonymous Says:

    Hi Manu
    I have a question. Where can I find the round green eggplant? your recipe looks so good. I want to try. Thanks
    Manjula

    • Anupama Krishnamurthy Says:

      Hi Manjula, During some months indian stores here carry different varieties of eggplant and that’s when I had found the green ones. I think it was from Namaste plaza on de anza and 85. If you don’t get green eggplant, just get the small purple round eggplant. It makes no difference. Do try this recipe though.

  2. Stephania Says:

    Thanks for any other informative site. The place
    else may just I am getting that type of info written in such an ideal method?
    I have a challenge that I am simply now operating on, and I have been at the glance out for such
    info.

  3. read Says:

    You will need to do your Lean workout routine
    for an hour you feeling full between meals,
    and prevents headaches caused from dehydration. Other possible symptoms include;
    nausea, machines to do our everyday chores, we have become physically order of p90x ab workout sedentary.
    The P90 X trainin mainly consists of a compilation of dvd certain
    plants, help support the “friendly” bacteria in your digestive tract.
    Adding additional cardio exercise will greatly increase endurance, which is where each of the vital work outs are explained plus it include
    a very good food intake program.

  4. Hazel Says:

    Link exchange is nothing else however it is only placing
    the other person’s webpage link on your page at appropriate place and other person will also do similar for you.

  5. Anupama Krishnamurthy Says:

    Hi Nitya,
    I am happy you tried this and liked it. Thank you so much for taking the time to leave your feedback; It means a lot to me.

    Anupama

  6. Nitya Says:

    Hi Anupama,
    I ate this dish at Bhanu’s house, then decided to try it myself. It came out quite well. Great job with the blog.

    -Nitya

  7. Nilima Desai Says:

    Just made this over the w’end for a party, except I didn’t have eggplants and s’one was bringing Undhyu which also has eggplant, sooooo I substituted it with Red Bell pepper and white corn and it was still soooooooooooooo tasty. E’one from the kids to adults just loved the combination of flavors. Thanks so much for sharing this wonderful recipe!!

    • Anupama Krishnamurthy Says:

      Hi Nilima, you are welcome, and I am just so happy that you liked this recipe too because it’s my favorite. Bell pepper and corn sounds so good. I’ll make it next time. Thanks a lot for giving your feedback.

      Anupama

      • Nilima Desai Says:

        I used 2 red bell peppers (seeded and chopped to large pieces) and 3/4 cup frozen corn and cooked them straight in the gravy.

  8. Mona Says:

    Thai eggplants with tomato in a creamy sauce with methi leaves. Ah! it has got all the goodness 🙂
    Thanks for sharing the recipe. Will definitely try it out.
    And I have added you to my blogroll.

  9. Bhanu Says:

    Hi Manu,
    I finally made this dish and it came out great. I was afraid it would not taste like yours but it came close to it…

    Bhanu

  10. Ambica Says:

    This was good !!! Like all good cooks, I had to make substitutions… coconut milk for the milk and cream. Thank you !! Waiting for your new posts.

  11. Madhu Narasimmaraj Says:

    Hi Anupama,

    This dish came our really well too – the sauce/curry was awesome! My daughter who normally fusses over eating vegetables had good portions of it.

    Thanks for posting
    Madhu

  12. Anupama Krishnamurthy Says:

    Hi Usha, I am really happy that you tried this recipe and liked it. You have just given me an idea to try it with spinach next time.

    Thanks,
    Anupama

  13. usha Says:

    hi anupama:
    Bhanu was raving about your creamy eggplant recipe. I just tried it out and it sure is great. i didnt have methi. i put spinach instead but twas good nevertheless.
    usha

  14. Vandana Says:

    I made the creamy eggplant with methi for a dinner party and it was a hit.

  15. Meghana Says:

    My mum made this. It was good.
    I prefer it not to be too runny.


Leave a Reply

