Churma Laddu

Churma La Douce !

Churma Laddus

Churma Laddus

VanuBa, my dear friend Kamal’s mother, is a loving and sprightly lady. Whenever I go to her home, there is always something sweet and spicy waiting for me. No one who goes to her home will leave hungry from there. It’s just one of those things of Indian culture and I love it.  Ever since I ate Churma na ladu made by her, I was pining to eat them again. They are not only deliciously sweet but also very satisfying. Generous amounts of ghee, sugar/jaggery and wheat flour come together to create a rich and unforgettable taste. Laddus are also a favorite Prasad item in India so when my Outlook Calendar reminded me of the upcoming VaraMahalakshmi Puja, I instinctively thought of Churma Laddus and knew it was time to make them.

Vanuba dictated and Kamal wrote down the recipe for me. As is the case with many Indian sweets, Churma Laddus can be made with GoL/Jaggery or Sugar. Since I was making them for the first time, I decided to use sugar and use 2 cups of wheat flour instead of the 3 as in the recipe and came up with my own milk and water ratio for the dough. The laddus tasted great and I was very happy. Goddess Lakshmi is said to bestow 16 types of wealth so when the number of laddus turned out to be exactly 16, it brought a big, happy smile on my face!

There are 4 main steps to making this Laddu. Kneading the dough, frying, grinding, and  finally, adding the sugar.

2 cups wheat flour

1/4 cup sooji/semolina

2 cups ghee

1 cup powdered sugar

1/2 cup water

1/2 cup milk

1/4 cup almond pieces

1 tea spoon powdered cardamoms

1/3 cup Khus-Khus (optional)

Mix wheat flour, semolina/sooji/ravo and 2 table spoon ghee . Add milk and water and knead into a dough. On the side, heat ghee in a frying pan. Make small balls/muthias/koftas out of dough (shape is not important). I just pulled a small amount of dough and pressed it in my fist.

Deep fry the balls/muthias/koftas a few at a time in ghee on low heat. (about 5 minutes)

Churma Laddu Koftas after deep frying

Churma Laddu Koftas after deep frying

When they cool down a bit, mix them in a food processor or grinder and make into a coarse powder. In most cases, when you use a grinder or a food processor, you will get a powder that is of uniform consistency. You can pass the powder through a sieve if you think it’s necessary.

Mix ghee (left over from frying), powder and almond pieces and fry it for 5 minutes on low heat.

Add powdered sugar (I just powdered the regular sugar in a small coffee grinder) and cardamoms. The laddu mix is now ready.

Make laddus when the mixture is still hot. Traditionally, these laddus are flat at the bottom and round at the top. Also, it’s common to roll the laddus in khus-khus. This ensures uniform coating of khus-khus all over the laddus and gives them a distinct look.

Thank you VanuBa for your wonderful recipe.

12 Responses to “Churma Laddu”

  1. Jaishri Says:

    Thank you very much for posting this wonderful recipe. I am looking forward to making it this week for someone very special 🙂

  2. harshi Says:

    thanks it gud to learn frm u

  3. hajra Says:

    been looking for this every where where .great thanks .be making s.a.p.

  4. hajra Says:

    been looking for this every where wear .great thanks .be making s.a.p.

  5. romaspace Says:

    I love churma laddus, yours look so tempting!

  6. Anupama Says:

    Hi Sethu,
    Thank you so much. I am really glad that you tried the capsicum curry and liked it. It’s very encouraging to hear from people like you.

    Anupma

  7. Sethu nagarajan Says:

    Dear Anupama,
    Awesome laddus. Awaiting for more recipes for festivals. I tried even the Capsicum curry.Too gud
    Thanks Anupama.

  8. Madhu Says:

    Dear Anupama,

    Creating this blog and sharing your recipes is such a great idea!! It is very generous of you to spend the time to write them out so people like me yearning to try out authentic recipes can get a chance to learn!
    Please keep up the postings. The pictures and recipes are very inviting!!

    Thanks
    Madhu

  9. Anupama Says:

    Thanks Kamal. For Diwali, let’s make these together as you had suggested. How about we make them with GoL instead of sugar?

  10. kamal Says:

    Hi Anupama,
    I am so glad to see this tried and true recipe being shared- I am sure mom is too. These laddus continue to be one of my absolute favorite sweets from Gujarat. And yes, they have been a popular prasad item at religious holidays for generations and I am glad you chose to make them on VaraMahalkshmi day.
    Keep on sharing these fabulous traditional recipes….


Leave a comment